Where to start?

Got something to say about the hobby of model making?
Lee_k
starter kit

Where to start?

Post by Lee_k »

Hi,

Newbie here - havent touched modelling for years since i was a young kid and i shudder to think how some of them really looked haha!

So couple of questions that i dare say people get sick of hearing!

All summed up in one really - where to start?

So looking at getting back into it, will be a bit of a part time hobby for them moments where the 1 year old or work doesnt have your full attention.

Is there different levels of kit? - How can you tell and where do you start?

Then makes? - i seem to read that you cant really go wrong with Tamiya kits for fit and detail?

Any general tips for that first model? What do i need to go and buy tomorrow if i want to get started?

Thanks
Lee
iggie
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Re: Where to start?

Post by iggie »

Hi Lee, welcome to the forum!

Any of the smaller Airfix new tool kits will be a goid and economic start. I would buy paint seperately and stick to acrylic as it's just easier than enamels while you get back into things. You really can't go wrong with the Spitfire Mk.1a; great fit, good detail and who fishnet love a Spit?
Best wishes

Jim
If you can walk away from a landing, it's a good landing. If you use the airplane the next day, it's an outstanding landing
"Never put off till tomorrow, what you can do the day after tomorrow"
jssel
Still crazy after all these years

Post by jssel »

Welcome to the forum. Enjoy the stay. Iggie is right and to add to the list: Bf109E, P51D, P40C, Spit XIX and IX all in 1/72 scale. Low cost, great fit and a wonderful place to start. And the folks here will be glad to help you along.
Besting 60 years of mediocre building of average kits in the stand off scale
rob_van_riel

Post by rob_van_riel »