Cleaning Single Action Airbrushes

Got something to say about the hobby of model making?
Stuart
Raider of the Lost Ark Royal

Cleaning Single Action Airbrushes

Post by Stuart »

Hi Gents,

One of the reasons why I don’t use an airbrush is the time it takes to set up and clean the brush after painting, normally my modelling time at home is limited to 10 or 20 minutes here and there, whilst usually doing 2 or 3 other job (and I don’t think Airbrushing in my car at lunch is a great idea).

However I'm going to take a stab at building my Monogram 1/48 F-106A soon and I've been wondering about how to paint it, because although I’m a reasonably good brush painter, I think it might be a bit of a struggle trying to achieve a decent single colour finish on a model this big.
So I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a cheap single action airbrush (I already have a compressor) and using that – most probably with Enamel depending on who produces a good Air Defence Grey.

I figure if I get a simple single action airbrush with a siphon fed bottle, which would allow me to pre-thin the paint so I can jump right into the painting – but in reality how long does it take to clean this type of airbrush?

Any suggestions?

I was thinking of getting one of the cleaning stations where you can spray the cleaning fluids into it to cut down on mess (I’ll be painting in the garden most likely), and maybe an ultrasonic cleaner like AndrewR uses – but I’ll take any advice.

Cheers

Stuart
Stuart Templeton I may not be good but I'm slow...

My Blog: https://stuartsscalemodels.blogspot.com/
jssel
Still crazy after all these years

Re: Cleaning Single Action Airbrushes

Post by jssel »

Hi Stuart. I use the Badger 200 single action. Got it in 1978. Overhauled once four years ago. Cleaning time is minimal. Complete take down cleaning not much longer.

Brush painting the glossy ADC grey would be tricky and even longer process IMHO. Especially in that scale.