Best value kit?

Got something to say about the hobby of model making?
AndrewR
In the basement lab

Best value kit?

Post by AndrewR »

Nominate a kit which you think gives you the biggest bang for your buck, and tell the world why.

Low price?
Good decals?
Enjoyable build?
Lots of options?
Accurate model?

Price consideration should be the average price in the shop, so don't nominate some not to be repeated bargain!

I'll start the ball rolling:

The new tool Airfix Spitfire Mk I in 1/72
Cheap, goes together well, looks good.

Cheers

Andrew
Up in the Great White North
Dirkpitt289
NUMA's Auto Mechanic

Re: Best value kit?

Post by Dirkpitt289 »

I'd have to go with the NEW Airfix F-86 Sabre. I can almost equate it to every one of the reasons you posted. It was only $11, the decals were great, it was one of the funnest builds since I built the ancient Airfix P-39 Airacobra kit last month and of course there was the detail of the kit. Now I must admit I'm no expert on the F-86 but the detail, the lines, and even the weighted tires. It was a most excellent kit.
.... Dirk

Beware of the DOG's of WAR

My Youtube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/ModelingGu ... rid&view=0
MackemPete
Onto the Clever Stuff, Now.

Post by MackemPete »

You stole my thunder Andrew!!!!
I have only built a few kits but this one(although still on the bench) has been great to build.
Cheers
Pete
flakmonkey
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Post by flakmonkey »

Revell's F-86D kits in 1/48 are my all time heavyweight champion bargain kit. Fits together perfectly without feeling shakey bakey, good decals, beautifully detailed right out of the box and yours for £15. You would have to go a very long way to beat that. As far as the nearest 1/48 Revell F-15E in fact.
Would ya like to learn to fly? Would ya? Would you like to see me try?
Beowulf Shaeffer
Earning Reputation Points

Post by Beowulf Shaeffer »

tamiya mini rally car

cheap as chips, goes together really nice and looks nice when its done