Dirk's Nakajima B5N2 - 'Kate'

Post by Dirkpitt289 »

User Name:Dirkpitt289
First Name:Dirk
manufacture:Hasegawa
Scale:1/72
Model Type:Nakajima B5N2 - 'Kate'
After Market Items:None at the moment

I've been looking forward to this group build for some time now. Mostly because of a recent increased interest in the PTO and partly because I've never built a Japanese aircraft before. For this build I chose to build the Nakajima B5N2 Torpedo bomber

History of the Nakajima B5N2 Kate

TheNakajima B5N - Allied reporting-name 'Kate' - was the sole shipboard torpedo-bomber of the Japanese Navy at the start of the Pacific War. It was by then quite old, having been designed to meet a specification of 1935, and was already judged to be obsolescent. However, when first put into production it had been a very advanced aircraft, and in war it out-performed any Allied shipborne torpedo-plane until the arrival of the Grumman Avenger in mid-1942. In particular it was greatly superior to the Douglas TBD Devastator.

B5N Kates played an important part of the attack on the US Navy positions at Pearl Harbor which ultimately led the United States to come forcefully into the war. About 144 or B5N Kates were used in that very attack. It can be held accountable for the sinking of several other Allied vessels in the Pacific which included the USS Hornet, USS Lexington and the USS Yorktown. More than 1,150 B5Ns were produced in the form of B5N1 and B5N2 variants. The BFN proved to be one of the best aircraft designed for torpedo bombing duty of the war.

Altogether, around 1,150 were built; however, not a single complete example survived. A large portion of a B5N2 was recovered from the Kuril Islands by a British private collector in 2003. Replicas of the B5N2s were made from U.S. BT-13 Valiant training aircraft, which were modified to represent Japanese aircraft for the movie Tora! Tora! Tora!, and have been used in a number of movies and airshows since to depict the aircraft.