Airfix Boeing 727 (1:144)

Military or civil, triplanes, biplanes or monoplanes, props, jets or helicopters...models in here.
Jaime
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Airfix Boeing 727 (1:144)

Post by Jaime »

Now that my workbench is finally seeing a bit of active service and following on from my post in Workbench Window here: http://uamf.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5984&start=15, I thought I'd better start a separate thread on this as it's my first build for over a year, my first civil aircraft, my first using acrylics rather than enamels and my first experiment with airbrushing!

And yes, that was me getting my excuses in early!

I've re-pasted the first couple of paragraphs from my other thread for this first post and will add more photos following the work in progress in subsequent posts.

I'm assuming that this is a reasonably old-ish kit as many of the joins needed filling. Maybe I'm a bit pernickety but the sleek shape of an airliner means that I wasn't prepared to accept a badly fitting fuselage and engine halves - even if this is going to end up as a toy for my 11 year old!

I used Revell Plasto as a filler and I hope it sands down well as I found it quite difficult to apply because it dried very quickly - almost as soon as it went on. That means there's quite a bit of surplus filler. I think that inevitably some of the finely raised panel details will be lost.

Anyway, here are the first couple of images:

Complete: Airfix 1/400 Mary Rose, 1/72: Airfix Swordfish Mk1 Floatplane, Airfix R.A.F. R.E.8, Airfix Hannover CL.111a, Mitsubishi A6M2b Zero, Curtiss P40B Warhawk
Sissel
Modelling Lady and Scholar

Re: Airfix Boeing 727 (1:72)

Post by Sissel »

Looking forward to see this being painted! I fancy the Iberia planes, they're nice looking.
Confused as always, and somewhere in hiding on the Scandinavian peninsula...
Jaime

Post by Jaime »