Normandy Panzer

Millitary miscellany; Tanks, AFV, Trucks and other Soft-Skin vehicles etc.
59North
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Normandy Panzer

Post by 59North »

This little Dragon boxing is a fine kit; wonderfully detailed. The fit is very good. I'm no tank expert, but, it sure looks like a Panzer IV to me.
I'm building the Panzer along side a 72nd Hasegawa Stuart. Both models have been primed, then a coat of Humbrol rust followed by the Tamiya top coat. In this way, I can use the alcohol rub method to age them up abit.

Here is the Stuart, which I am generally messing up good.

This afternoon, I intend to begin the Panzers two color camo scheme. The box top looks nicer to me than the 3-view scheme drawings. So I'll try to give it a more streaked camo than a patch camo. I'm certainly not going to be a bolt counter; just going to try my best.
59North

Re: Normandy Panzer

Post by 59North »

As it is, this was the best I could do with my trusty, slightly beat-up, general purpose Iwata. The nozzle was 1/4" away from the model, and I still failed to get thinner lines.
Ah well, I'll have clean up the overspray with a little brush work. Then I can paint all those moulded on tools.

Top colours are all Tamiya: Buff, Field Gray, and NATO Brown.
ShaunW
NOT the sheep

Post by ShaunW »

I think that's a good effort, 59er, braille scale tanks aren't the easiest models to freehand spray like that. What I often do is apply a very light overspray of the base colour, buff in this case, over all of the camo which, if done correctly, gives a slightly faded look and helps to tie all of the colours in together. Great care has to be taken and, of course, it is all too easy to apply too much of the base coat, covering the whole thing up and ending up back at square one. You can probably guess how I found that out.
Doing - Tamiya 1/35th Universal Carrier.

Work is the curse of the modelling classes!
IPMS#12300
59North

Post by 59North »