Ducati 1199 panigale s

Time to pimp them rides!
syd-baines
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Ducati 1199 panigale s

Post by syd-baines »

my next build is Tamiya 1:12 ducati 1199 panigale s, i have bought the front fork set that tamiya has produced for this kit also i have bought a detail up set for it, it has photo etch and resin parts, it also has a chain for me to build, i have never used resin parts before so if any one can give me some advice on resin i would be very grateful, i.e what glue and paints to use or can i use the same as for the plastic parts the resin looks to be softer than the plastic so i assume i will have to use finer sandpaper, the bike does not have a frame every thing is bolted to the engine and as far as i know it is the only motorcycle in production that does not have a frame

the front fork set

the detail up set

Mike_h
Getting well comfy!

Re: Ducati 1199 panigale s

Post by Mike_h »

Looks like a nice kit
general rocket

Post by general rocket »

Our expectations are high!
I wish, that I knew what was doing!
ShaunW
NOT the sheep

Post by ShaunW »

A great looking Duke Syd. My experience with resin is limited to a few add-on aircraft parts but I used CA ("superglue"), which did the job. As an alternative to CA a two-part epoxy resin glue such as Araldite or a cheaper DIY store alternative (if you are in the UK I have found Wilkos own brand to be excellent) might also work OK.

Please be careful sanding resin as it is really not a good idea to inhale the dust, I would strongly recommend wearing a mask.
Doing - Tamiya 1/35th Universal Carrier.

Work is the curse of the modelling classes!
IPMS#12300
syd-baines

Post by syd-baines »