Martin's Stripy 'Cat *** DNF ***

For ship-based aircraft.
Runs 1st to 31st August; your host is Martin R.
Martin R
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Martin's Stripy 'Cat *** DNF ***

Post by Martin R »

My main (and perhaps only) build for this GB will be the Airfix / Otaki / Arii F6F-3 Hellcat Mk I, as shown on the box art of the Airfix boxing of this kit:

Here are the sprues:

And a close up of the sprue containing the cockpit pieces shows the detail available from this '70s kit. It's no Hasegawa or Eduard, but it's not too shabby at all:

Image[/URL]

Which is not to say it couldn't be improved:

Quickboost F6F-5 engine (shhhh! if you don't tell anyone, neither will I). Given the engineering of the kit, it's going to be fun trying to place the engine in the correct place in the cowling. I haven't quite figured out how I'm going to do this yet, and . . .

. . . the Airwaves set for this kit. I'm not too experienced with PE; usually it sticks to my fingers rather than where I want it to go. Time will tell how much of this I will use.

Here's the canopy, which looks pretty clear even without any klear.

And here are the decals. They look good on the sheet, but experience of the Airfix 1/48th Scale Mk VIII Spitfire from the same era suggests that they may be dull with iffy colour density. Time will tell!

I've got a couple more pieces of AM to arrive. Pics when I get my mitts on 'em.

I'm quite looking forward to starting this. It looks a relatively simple, quite well detailed kit, which can be improved or not as the spirit takes me. The painting, however, may be more complicated. More soon.

regards,

Martin
Stuart
Raider of the Lost Ark Royal

Re: Martin's Stripy 'Cat

Post by Stuart »

Nice choice Martin - looks like it'll be a nice build!
Stuart Templeton I may not be good but I'm slow...

My Blog: https://stuartsscalemodels.blogspot.com/
Martin R

Post by Martin R »

I'm hoping so, Stuart.