Hello

Boggy
starter kit

Hello

Post by Boggy »

Hi
I'm Ron. I used to be a keen modeler years ago when my lads were younger (the wife thought I was making the kits for their bedroom ;-) ) I then moved on to radio control and have accumulated quite a good collection of Aircraft Helicopters and Cars.Now the weather is cooling and I have come to my senses I'm got back to kits for the winter.
Previously my kits were a little sterile looking painted as per the instuctions with no weathering or real detail but now in the age of t'internet and faceplant I realize just how great they can be made to look,so expect plenty of questions about techniques!
My first love is Helicopters as I'm ex Fleet Air Arm (yeovilton based) so my first model I have a special love for.

its very much a WIP Wessex mk5. (Italeri 1/72 )

My first attempt using an Airbrush!

one coat on. :-)
JohnRatzenberger
Why is he so confused ?

Re: Hello

Post by JohnRatzenberger »

Welcome aboard, Ron - I'm sure you'll find us helpful.

I'm going to step out of the way, as we have a few former FAA helicopter types here and I don't want to be trampled when they gather you in :grin:
John Ratzenberger :???:
It's my model and I'll do what I want with it.
iggie
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Post by iggie »

Hi Ron,welcome to the fray!

As JR says, there are a few FAA types already here so you'll be in good company in that regard

If I may respectfully make a suggestion regarding your airbrushing, it looks like you have over-thinned and/or over-coated, which has resulted in the runs that you can see on the Wessex; a little and often is the way to go. Also, try warming the model (I use an old fan heater) before and after spraying; that way the paint settles and dries quicker, and you can apply multiple coats without having to empty and clean the airbrush! Works for me anyway!
Best wishes

Jim
If you can walk away from a landing, it's a good landing. If you use the airplane the next day, it's an outstanding landing