Hello from Wiltshire

TeeELL
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Hello from Wiltshire

Post by TeeELL »

Hi,
My name is Tony and I am a retired RAF pilot. Like so many, I started modelling as a child after all, there were no Play Stations back then and not too many games or apps for tha abacus! My main 'interest' was 1:72 aircraft and, let's face it, building the new Airfix Liberator was far more interesting than doing french homework (or any other homework for that matter). I dabbled in armour a little and diversified when Christmas or birthdays presented me with the Bentley, Dennis fire engine etc. I lived in North London at the time and had a few model/toy shops around to spend 1/9d on an Airfix kit or whatever on a Frog kit. One particular diversion was making building a jet aircraft - the Airfix F4 Phantom, an impressive aircraft (especially of you believed the information section on the instruction sheet!!!) I never realised that I would one day end up flying the F4 (FGR2).
Having joined the RAF I started modelling 4mm scale GWR railways (EM gauge for those of you 'in the know'), so I was constructing my own track, pointwork etc as well as Locos and rolling stock. I had a significant stash of white metal, brass and plastic models, motors correct scale wheels etc, etc, etc. I eventually succumbed to marriage and a family and so all that went on the back burner (no, make that the loft), to gather dust for 15 years. When my marital sentence was up (I achieved 'early release'), I realised that I was never going to create the layout of my dreams and I sold off virtually all my model railway stuff.