(Re)introduce Yourself

Softscience
Staring out the window

(Re)introduce Yourself

Post by Softscience »

Hello people, and welcome to the sparkly new incarnation of the UAMF.

My name is Ralph, and I'm a plasticholic, and have been an UAMF member since 2007, back when we were still on the old site. I build all kinds of models, but most often find myself working on 1/72nd scale aircraft flown by the RAF and RN between the late 1930s and 1960s. I also like American bombers, US Navy aircraft from WW II and the cold war, and Soviet jets. I build mostly in 1/72 scale, as I find it to be the most efficient use of shelf space, but I also love working in 1/48. When I stray off into armor modeling, its most often in 1/35 or 1/72.

In addition to modeling, I also enjoy SCUBA diving, playing guitar and performing with my band, as well as hiking and camping, and reading and writing nonfiction. I live in Bellingham Washington, on the United States' Pacific northwest coast, where I also work as an archaeologist. I live with my beautiful wife Erin, and our big black cat Oliver, and chihuahua/rat terrier mix, Ivan. No reason to spoil the fun with a bunch of kids.
flakmonkey
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Re: (re)introduce yourself

Post by flakmonkey »

It may surprise many of you to learn that my real name is not flakmonkey but is in fact Steve. Having become a member of UAMF in 2007 I have spent some of the intervening time building models mostly in 1/48 scale and mostly of post 1960 heavy metal. That should have read "slowly building models". When I'm not enjoying myself, which frankly is most of the time, I run a small design company based in Warwickshire. I live with The Tall Vegetarian Wife who was originally from somewhere called "Canada" and whichever of our four children was unable to afford the train fare back to university the last time they came home.
Would ya like to learn to fly? Would ya? Would you like to see me try?
AndrewR
In the basement lab