vallejo model air dark earth help/advise needed

Hints here for painting, decalling, weathering and displaying your finished models.
OllieSmith
Active Participant

vallejo model air dark earth help/advise needed

Post by OllieSmith »

Hi all,
I've just got around to airbrushing up a Lancaster with Vallejo model air 016 dark us green and 029 dark earth. The dark earth is too dark and there is little contrast between the dark green and dark earth :/ I'm new to Vallejo paints moving from humbrol acrylics, and these were the two that were vallejo's supposid match for raf upper cammo.
Can anyone with experience using Vallejo model air, please recommend me a Vallejo model air colour better matched for the raf ww2 cammo Brown please? I've seen somewhere online, someone mentioned Vallejo model air 030 a better match? What Vallejo colours do you all use for raf ww2 cammo?

Hope someone can help,
Cheers,
Ollie
Ratch
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Re: vallejo model air dark earth help/advise needed

Post by Ratch »

Try 71038 Camouflage Medium Brown ;-)
All models are equal. Some models are more equal than others.
Airfix Tribute Forum
montessa315

Post by montessa315 »

The listing I have got for Vallejo paint for RAF WW2 cammo is-
Dark Green #12
Dark Earth #29

The #12 is slightly lighter than #16.

Alan........

Post by OllieSmith »

Thanks for the replies guys :) I'm not sure whether to go for a lighter brown or lighter green now !!!!

Ratch, have you ever used the 71038? Or know how it compares to the 71029 dark earth in shade or tonal appearance?

Alan, if you have used the 012 and 029 combination, how do they look?