Beginner doubt(s)

Hints here for painting, decalling, weathering and displaying your finished models.
adityeah
starter kit

Beginner doubt(s)

Post by adityeah »

Hi,
I have recently joined this forum. I am new to the hobby.

I read a lot of stuff here and I understood that using an airbrush is the ideal way to do the paint. However, there are a couple of things - In India this thing (airbrush + compressor) is not exactly cheap - at least not for a hobby starter. Also considering that I am a beginner, I have decided to go with paint-brushing.

Now with paint-brushing, of course, the doubts revolve around acrylic vs enamel. I think looking at availability etc, acrylic should be the way forward. Do I need to use a primer there? Anything else?

Also, the Airfix Mitsubishi Zero kit I bought came with a few paints (acrylic I assume). I think there are four small plastic boxes and a paintbrush. While I am sure that I will need to buy a few brushes - do I also need to buy a set of acrylic tubes? Or is what I have enough?

Any tips, comments appreciated!
Thanks,
Aditya
TobyC
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Re: Beginner doubt(s)

Post by TobyC »

When using an acrylic paint always prime first as it makes the paint take to the kit.
Enjoyment over accuracy. That's my motto
AndrewR
In the basement lab

Post by AndrewR »

When you are starting, brush painting is a good idea. Paint choice enamel or acrylic depends on several things. Local availability being important. Enamels will give better coverage and you may not need to prime the model. You will need solvents to clean the brushes and there is the smell of paint to think about.
Acrylics can be water or solvent based. I use water based Vallejo acrylics. They need a primer as they do not bond as well to the plastic as enamels. They dry more quickly than enamels.