1/35 scale JDX63 TALON

From Apollo and Soyuz, to Gerry Anderson, Irwin Allen, Star Wars and Trek to Babylon 5, Battlestar Galactica and those strange, doe-eyed Japanese school girls...to any model kits you can think of, that only exists in imagination.
Jez
Getting well comfy!

1/35 scale JDX63 TALON

Post by Jez »

Hi everyone

Will not normally find my posts here i am primarily an aircraft modeler. However a while back now our model club competition drawn at random ended up with a sci fi theme. Not really my type of thing - but started looking at my spare bits and bobs all the surplus parts i have accumulated over the years and decided i could create a sci fi speeder kind of affair. Was pleased with the result and forgive my lack of modesty - it did go on to win the club competition against a good array of proper manufactured kits. Anyway thought i would share.

The model was kit bashed and scrap built from bits - spot the bits?

1/72 SU27
1/76 Airfix Churchill tank
1/76 Airfix six pounder gun
1/32 Mustang
1/72 heinkel He 70
1/24 Bf109e engine bits
1/35 Panther bits and bobs
Miscellaneous aircraft bits and bobs + 1/35 soviet tank driver.

The model:

You will notice underneath the fixing for the stand courtesy of an old matchbox kit - so went with a little base to show it off.

The blurb about this speeder thingy:

A peacekeeper of the New World Forum (NWF) flies his well used 2084 edition JDX63 TALON ( Territory Aquisition Liaison & Neutralisation platform). His craft draws the attention of flack and tracer as he speeds through the bad lands of the outer quadrant - on an ill advised show of force.

I found the whole thing a very refreshing change - cobbling bits together deciding what looked right what didn't. All the time not hamstrung by accuracy constraints - no rivet counting - normal struggles to get my WW2 aircraft accurate in form and shape and colour scheme - not an issue here there was no right or wrong - found it very liberating.

Thanks for looking