Air brush

Want to know all about building a model?
This is where to look for tips on everything from gluing to filling, and scratchbuilding to filing ...
Mrvip1978
starter kit

Air brush

Post by Mrvip1978 »

Hi everyone
I’m new to modelling and would greatly appreciate
Any advice.
I’m currently using enamel paints and I want to buy an air brush but there’s so many to choose from?
I’ve never used one before and don’t have a clue
If you can use straight enamel or if it requires thinning
first, if it does to what ratio and what’s the best thinner to use?

Thank you.
dayzofspeed
The Bug Has Well And Truly Bitten

Re: Air brush

Post by dayzofspeed »

It would definitely need thinning. I tend to thin paint 50/50. I don't airbrush enamels but assume you'd need some kind of cellulose thinner or maybe something like mek. Or it maybe as simple as white spirit
I always painted with enamel prior to using an airbrush and found acrylic much simpler with an airbrush
Am sure someone more experienced in airbrush will come in with a definitive answer
Hope that helps
I stared a century thinking this will never change
As I hesitated, time rushed onwards without me
Too scared to break the spell, too small to take a fall
But the absolute luck is, love is in our hearts!

Lyrics By P. Weller
Mrvip1978
starter kit

Post by Mrvip1978 »

Thank you.
I will try a 50/50 ratio and test first.
Can you recommend a good airbrush kit?
Rechargeable seems logical but un sure.
fredk
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Post by fredk »

I can answer just a few of those questions;
1. I use two cheap air brushes made in China. They are copies of more expensive ones. Its a gamble if you get a good Chisese copy or a bad one. Mine are good copies. They now cost about £25 to £30. I would suggest buying one of these first and seeing how you get on with an airbrush, Also buy a good compressor; one with a tank to hold the extra air.